Akeal Hosein takes a one handed stunner

Akeal Hosein takes a one handed stunner

Liam Livingstone falls to a superb catch by Akeal Hosein off his own bowling during the 2nd Super 12s match of the ICC T20 World Cup.

Upon winning the toss, England skipper Eoin Morgan put the defending champions to bat first. The West Indies batting lineup was looking explosive with Lendl Simmons and Evin Lewis opening the innings for the Caribbean team. They were followed by Chris Gayle, Shimron Hetmyer, Nicholas Pooran(w), Kieron Pollard(c), Andre Russell, Dwayne Bravo.

Also Read:- England take revenge for 2016 T20 World Cup Final against West Indies

But things did not go as the Windies have thought. West Indies batting line-up dismantled in quick succession. West Indies lost four wickets in first six overs of the match. But wickets did not stop falling as the whole team was dismissed in just 14.2 overs. West Indies managed to score 55 runs.

The English bowlers did a brilliant job by bowling out the team in just 55 runs. Adil Rashid picked up 4 wickets while Tymal Mills and Moeen Ali picked two each. Chris Woakes and Chris Jordan managed to pick up a wicket each.

While chasing down the small total of 56 runs, England lost the wicket of Jason Roy quite early in the innings. Moeen Ali and Jonny Bairstow also did not manage to cross the double-digit mark. Liam Livingstone came to bat in the final over of the powerplay.

Also Read:- VIDEO : Adil Rashid’s Unplayable Ball to Bowled Out Russell

Just after the fielding restrictions were over, Kieron Pollard brought back Akeal Hosein back into the attack. Pollard brought a slip and a silly point too hoping for another breakthrough. The plan did work for them as Hosein removed Livingstone in the first ball of the over. Akeal Hosein started running away in joy. West Indies were not in a winning position but they gave England a hard time. Akeal took a sensational catch off his own bowling. He went one-handed as he threw himself to his left, grabbed the ball and then ensured that it didn’t hit the turf as he completed the catch. The third umpire signalled it as ‘OUT’ as well. There was no way the third umpire would have turned the decision of the on-field umpire.

The spinner’s one-handed match might be one of the best catch of the tournament. The ball was very full and was directed towards the pads. The ball caught the leading edge of the bat as Livingstone tried to flick it early. Livingstone departed after scoring a run in just two deliveries.

Also Read:- Aiden Markram takes a flying catch to dismiss Steve Smtih