Back when Rishabh Pant was stumped by WI keeper in the finals of the 2016 ICC U-19 CWC

Ishan Kishan led Team India reached the finals of the ICC U-19 Cricket World Cup in 2016. Team India reached the finals of the tournament by defeating Sri Lanka in the semi-finals by 97 runs. On the other hand, West Indies defeated Bangladesh by 3 wickets with 8 balls remaining.  

The International Cricket Council shared a video from their official Instagram handle, where Pant was playing in the ICC U-19 World Cup against West Indies. Pant got run-out by the WI keeper. 

West Indies skipper Shimron Hetmeyer won the toss and opted to field first in the finals of the marquee event at the Shere Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka. Both the teams remained unchanged. Skipper Ishan Kishan and wicket-keeper batsman Rishabh Pant came out in the middle to open the innings for team India. 

Alzarri Joseph was handed the ball to bowl the first over of the game. Team India got off to a worst possible start as they unfortunately lost the wicket of Rishabh Pant in the very first over of the game. 

Rishabh Pant left the fourth ball of the over as it was way outside the off-stump. But the West Indies keeper Tevin Imlach shows great awareness as he throws the ball towards the stumps immediately. Pant was just outside the crease as he offered no stroke towards the ball from Joseph. Imlach grabbed the ball and hit the stumps with an under arm flick. As soon as the ball hit the stumps, Pant’s reaction showed clearly that he ran into some trouble. 

The on-field umpires went for a review and the replays in the big screen showed clearly that the 17 year old was just short of his crease. Pant made his long walk to the pavilion after scoring a run off 3 deliveries. 

WATCH this video below:

West Indies were the one to lift the 2016 ICC U-19 Cricket World Cup as they defeated India by 5 wickets.