BCCI announce India’s T20 squad for New Zealand Series – New captain announced !

The BCCI has finally announced India’s T20 squad for New Zealand’s upcoming tour of India that will start shortly after the final of the 2021 T20 World Cup.

After a disappointing display by the blues in the T20 World Cup, a full fledged revamp was required at the urgent and the BCCI has seemingly done exactly that. With it, their are also some big updates about the team as the new T20I captain of team India has also been announced by BCCI in the same press release.

Let us first have a look at India’s T20 Squad for the New Zealand series:

India’s T20I squad: Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (VC), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (WK), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, Md. Siraj.

As you can probably have noticed by now, Rohit Sharma is the new Captain of the Indian T20 team and KL Rahul is our new Vice captain. And this is a permanent decision.

It is also being rumoured that the selectors will think about the ODI captaincy ahead of the South Africa tour and Virat Kohli is likely to lose his captaincy in that format as well.

Some other good news include the selection of Ruturaj Gaikwad and the maiden callup of Venkatesh Iyer. Both the players had been in tremendous form in IPL 2021 and it is good that they have finally been considered by the selectors.

Harshal Patel and Avesh Khan are other IPL super performers that have been selected in the squad. Also, our favourite Yuzvendra Chahal makes a comeback in the squad.