ICC names nominees for Men’s Test Player of the Year Award: One Indian player included

Every year, Indian Cricket Council awards the Men’s Test Player of the Year award to felicitate extraordinary performance in the longest format of the game throughout the year. This award was skipped last year, i.e, in 2020 as there were not many test matches played that year due to the COVID-19 pandemic and it will be presented after 2 years for the 2021 season.

Previous Winners of Men’s Test Player of the Year

2019: Pat Cummins
2018: Virat Kohli
2017: Steve Smith
2016: Ravichandran Ashwin
2015: Steve Smith
2014: Mitchell Johnson
2013: Michael Clarke
2012: Kumar Sangakara
2011: Alastair Cook
2010: Virender Sehwag
2009: Gautam Gambhir
2008: Dale Steyn
2007: Mohammad Yusuf
2006: Ricky Ponting
2005: Jacques Kallis
2004: Rahul Dravid

ICC has come up with a list of 4 players as the nominees to win this year’s Men’s Test Player of the Year award and here it is:-

  • Kyle Jamieson – Kyle Jamieson was the find of the year for New Zealand in 2021. He played a key role in winning New Zealand the ICC World Test Championship award and definitely deserves to be on this list.
Kyle Jamieson
  • Ravichandran Ashwin – India’s lone warrior in the bowling department this year. Ravichandran Ashwin broke countless records in 2021 with so much Test action that India were involved in and he definitely cemented his name in the list of all time legends of the game.
Ravichandran Ashwin
  • Joe Root – The highest run scorer in test cricket this season and England’s lone warrior, Joe Root probably had his best season this year and this is his best shot to win the Men’s Player of the year award – an honour he has never before won.
Joe Root
  • Dimuth Karunaratne – The Sri Lankan batsman exceeded all expectations this year and was probably the best batsman in Asia in test cricket. Infact his numbers were behind only Joe Root.
Dimuth Karunaratne