India’s T20 Squad for South Africa series announced: Rohit, Kohli, Bumrah rested

BCCI has finally announced the official squad of Team India for the much anticipated upcoming T20 series against South Africa which is set to commence on 9th June. The first match is set to be played on that date and the next matches will be played after a consistent two days gap. The series will be played in India with the first match being played at the Arun Jaitley stadium.

Let us now take a look at India’s chosen squad.

T20I Squad – KL Rahul (Capt), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant(VC) (wk),Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, Venkatesh Iyer, Y Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, R Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik

As we can clearly see, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah have been rested ahead of the series after the tiresome IPL season. IPL 2022’s performances have evidently taken a big toll on the selection as a lot of young players have been selected in the squad based on their performances in the recently conducted Indian Premier League season.

The most exciting name out of them is definitely that of Umran Malik who got his maiden National team call up. The pacy youngster was only expected to make his soon after his terrific performance in the Indian Premier League and it has been realised now.

Dinesh Karthik has also got another chance to prove himself for the national team after a brilliant performance for RCB. Avesh Khan and Arshdeep Singh are among the other names to get a chance to represent India at the International stage and realise their dreams.