MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma likely to be retained by their respective franchises

Rohit, Dhoni and Kohli

Ahead of the IPL 2022 mega auctions, the eight existing franchises have to submit their player retention list by November 30, 2021. Several franchises are still finalizing their list with the deadline being 12pm IST on Tuesday.

Also Read:- IPL 2022 Retentions: KKR unlikely to retain Shubman Gill

As per reports, MS Dhoni, Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma has been retained by their respective franchises. Each side can retain a maximum of four players. A maximum of two overseas players can be retained.

The two new franchises-Ahmedabad and Lucknow can buy upto three players each from the pool after the original eight teams have made their retentions.

If a franchise retains four players, INR 42 crore will be deducted from its total salary purse of INR 90 crore. If a franchise retains three players, INR 33 crore will be deducted. While for two retentions it would reduce by INR 24 crore and in case of one retention INR 14 crore would be deducted from the purse.

Also Read:- IPL 2022 Retention: These two players might receive a one year ban !

Chennai Super Kings have retained captain MS Dhoni and youngster Ruturaj Gaikwad. The 24-year-old won the orange cap in the latest edition for being the highest run getter in the tournament. Earlier this month, MS Dhoni revealed that he wants to play his last T20I in Chennai. The other two players picked up by Chennai are Moeen Ali and Ravindra Jadeja.

Only CSK, DC and KKR went for all the four retentions while SRH have decided to retain only one player. Sunrisers Hyderabad decided to leave Rashid Khan. They have only retained skipper Kane Williamson.

RCB have retained their former captain Virat Kohli. He has represented his side since the inaugural season of IPL in 2008. Glenn Maxwell is the other player who is likely to be retained.

The five-time champions Mumbai Indians have retained their skipper Rohit Sharma and fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah.

As per ESPNcricinfo, these players are the ones to be retained:

Chennai Super Kings: Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Moeen Ali.
Kolkata Knight Riders: Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, Varun Chakravarthy, Venkatesh Iyer
Sunrisers Hyderabad: Kane Williamson
Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah
Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell
Delhi Capitals: Rishabh Pant, Prithvi Shaw, Axar Patel, Anrich Nortje
Rajasthan Royals: Sanju Samson

Also Read:- Lance Klusener to step down as the head coach of Afghanistan