IPL teams with their net worth

1. Mumbai Indians (MI)

MI is owned by Mr. Mukesh Ambani through Reliance Industries is the richest IPL team with a worth of about Rupees 803 crores. MI was founded in the year 2008 in the opening season of the tournament. MI is the most successful team in the tournament with 5 trophies in 13 seasons. MI have won in 2013,2015,2017,2019,2020. In 2017 MI became the first team to cross the $100 million mark. MI had some legendary players like Sachin Tendulkar, Ricky Ponting, Lasith Malinga etc. Rohit Sharma is currently the captain of the team.

2. Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)

KKR is owned by one of the most famous actors in Bollywood-Shah Rukh Khan. The team gained massive popularity because of the famous film artist. It is also owned by another actor-Juhi Chawla. KKR’s net worth is Rupees 740 crore and is the second richest IPL team. KKR have won the competition twice-first in 2012 and second in 2014.

3. Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)

RCB was owned by business tycoon Vijay Mallya till the year 2018. After that the ownership changed hands and it is currently owned by United Spirits. Royal Challengers Bangalore have never won an IPL trophy in 13 seasons. RCB is the third richest team with worth Rupees 697 crores. Indian skipper Virat Kohli is the captain of the squad.

4. Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

CSK was founded in the year 2008. The team faced a two-year ban in July 2015 due to their owner’s involvement in the 2013 IPL betting case. However, on their return to the league, the team won the IPL trophy in 2018. CSK is owned by former BCCI president Srinivasan through India Cements. The team’s net worth stands at Rupees 697 crores. CSK have won the trophy thrice-in 2010,2011,2018. CSK is captained by former Indian skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni.

5. Sun Risers Hyderabad (SRH)

SRH was founded in the year 2012 and they played their first match in 2013. SRH won their first IPL trophy in the year 2016 by beating RCB in the finals. The pandemic situation has affected the team’s net worth which has decreased by 4% and currently stands at 498 crores. SRH is owned by Kalanithi Maran through Sun TV Network. The team is currently captained by New Zealand’s skipper Kane Williamson.

6. Rajasthan Royals (RR)

RR was founded in the year 2008 and is the first team to win the inaugural season of the tournament. Rajasthan Royals was previously owned by Raj Kundra but is now owned by Manoj Badale. The team’s net worth has impacted significantly after the pandemic. The team’s net worth currently stands at 160 million USD. RR is currently captained by Sanju Samson. The team faced a two-year ban much like CSK in 2015.

7. Delhi Capitals (DC)

Delhi Capitals earlier known as Delhi Daredevils is currently owned by JSW cement group and GMR group with an equal stake. The team’s name was changed two years back after it’s 50% stake was sold to JSW. Delhi Capitals is currently captained by Rishabh Pant. The team’s net worth stands at Rupees 550 crore.

8. Punjab Kings (KXIP)

The Mohali based team is jointly owned by Ness Wadia of the Wadia group and Preity Zinta. The team is co-owned by Mohit Burman and Karan Paul. The brand value of the club has increased significantly after Chris Gayle, KL Rahul, Ravindran Ashwin joined the team in 2018. The team’s net worth has grown from US$ 41 million in 2017, it has increased by 27% to US$ 52 million in 2018. The team has failed to win any IPL trophy yet and is currently captained by KL Rahul.