Liton Das and Lahiru Kumara might be charged upto 50% of their match fee: Know Why

Lahiru Kumara and Liton Das penalized by ICC after altercation

Sri Lankan fast bowler Lahiru Kumara and Bangladesh opener Liton Das have been fined for breaching the ICC’s code of conduct after getting involved in a heated verbal exchange.

The incident occurred during the Group B, Super 12 game between Sri Lanka and Bangladesh on Sunday at Sharjah. The incident occurred in the 5th over of the match when Kumara dismissed opener Liton Das and engaged in a war of words while walking towards the direction of the batsmen.

Also Read:- Two must changes for India in the upcoming game against NZ on Sunday

Liton Das managed to score a run ball 16 run innings before he was caught at mid-off. Kumara was seen walking towards the batsmen to give a send-off. Das reacted aggressively which led to a verbal battle between the two players. This led to some shoving and physical contact before the non-striker Mohammad Naim pushed Kumara to get away from the batsman. The two tried to get involved in a physical battle but players from both teams and umpires intervened and separated the two cricketers from being uglier.

“Kumara was found guilty of breaching Article 2.5 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel, which relates to ‘Using language, actions or gestures which disparage, or which could provoke an aggressive reaction from a batter upon his/her dismissal during an International Match,’” ICC stated in an official release.

“Das was found guilty of breaching Article 2.20 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel, which relates to ‘Conduct that is contrary to the spirit of the game’.

Also Read:- IPL’s matches increased with the inclusion of 2 new teams

“Javagal Srinath of the Emirates ICC Elite Panel of Match Referees imposed the sanctions, which were ratified by the ICC Cricket Operations department as per the COVID-19 interim playing regulations. Kumara and Das both pleaded guilty to the offences and accepted the proposed sanctions, so there was no need for a formal hearing.

“The charges were levelled by on-field umpires Joel Wilson and Adrian Holdstock, 3rd umpire Michael Gough and 4th umpire Rod Tucker.”

Lahiru Kumara and Liton Das were fined 25% and 15% of the match fees and received one demerit point each. Both the player pleaded guilty and accepted the sanctions.

Generally, the Level 1 breaches carry a minimum penalty of an official reprimand and a maximum penalty of 50% of the match fees and one or two demerit points. When a player reaches to four or more demerit points within 24 months, they are automatically converted into suspension points and the player is suspended. Two suspension points equal to a ban from 1 Test or 2 ODIs or 2 T20Is, whichever comes first for the player. Demerit points remain on a player’s support personnel’s disciplinary record for 24 months from their imposition following which they are expunged.

Also Read:- Fans started calling Shoaib Malik ‘Jija Ji’ during the Ind-Pak clash! Watch this hilarious video