Rohit Sharma likely to lead Team India in T20s and 1st test against NZ

Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma is likely to be named as the captain of Team India in the shortest format of the game. KL Rahul is likely to be his deputy.

Also Read:- Maxwell’s fiance will not allow him to play in the Pakistan tour ! Here’s Why

Team India will name their squad for the upcoming series against New Zealand, after their early exit from the ICC T20 World Cup. Team India will play two tests and three T20Is against NZ starting from November 17. This will be Rahul Dravid’s first series as the head coach of the team.

Test captain Virat Kohli will take rest and will not play the first test. Rohit Sharma will captain the team in the 1st tests against NZ. Kohli will return to the squad to play the 2nd test match. Kohli will also not be a part of the three T20Is. Ajinkya Rahane who is the vice-captain of the longest format of the game will remain as the vice-captain.

The first three T20I matches will be held at Jaipur, Kanpur and Kolkata. While the two tests will be held at Kanpur and Mumbai.

Also Read:- Player ratings of Indian players in T20 World Cup 2021

Senior players like Mohammad Shami and Jasprit Bumrah are likely to be rested for the T20 series. Harshal Patel who has been excellent in the latest edition of IPL will play in place of Varun Chakravarthy who had a disappointing WC. Shreyas Iyer will also return to the squad. Deepak Chahar and Rahul Chahar are also expected to be a part of the squad.

Before the start of the ICC T20 World Cup, Virat Kohli had decided to give up the captaincy in the shortest format of the game after the conclusion of the tournament. Kohli cited ‘workload’ as one of the main reasons. Kohli also gave up his duties as a captain of IPL franchise RCB. Over the next 24 hours, Team India’s squad for the T20 and test series will be named. While New Zealand have already named their squad for the series against India.

Also Read:- Former Indian cricketer becomes the new head coach of RCB !