Sachin Tendulkar’s son named in Mumbai’s Ranji Trophy team


Opener Prithvi Shaw has been named as the captain of Mumbai for the first two matches of the upcoming Ranji Trophy Season.

Mumbai have released their squad on Wednesday for Ranji Trophy 2021-22. Sachin Tendulkar’s son Arjun Tendulkar has been named in Mumbai’s Ranji Team. The 41-time Ranji Trophy Champions have been placed in Elite nine team Group C this time.

Earlier, Arjun Tendulkar played some limited over matches for Mumbai. But the 22-year-old is yet to make his debut in red ball format.

The Senior Selection Committee of the Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) led by former Indian pacer Salil Ankola has selected a 20-man squad for the first two matches against Maharashtra and Delhi. Mumbai will play the first match against Maharashtra from Jan 13 in Kolkata. They will then face Delhi from Jan 20 in the same venue.

“Prithvi is a brilliant captain and fantabulous opening batsman, what else you need,” MCA’s chief selector Salil Ankola told PTI.

Opener Yashasvi Jaiswal, middle-order batters Sarfaraz Khan, Arman Jaffer, Aakarshit Gomel and wicket-keeper batsmen Aditya Tare have been included in the 20-man squad.

All rounder Shivam Dube has also been included in the squad.

Dhaval Kulkarni will lead the pace attack along with medium pacer Mohit Awasthi, left-arm spinner Shams Mulani, off-spinner Shashank Attarde and left-arm medium pacer Roystan Dias.

Mumbai Squad for Ranji Trophy 2021-22: Prithvi Shaw (Captain), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Drew Gomel, Armaan Jaffer, Sarfaraz Khan, Sachin Yadav, Aditya Tare (WK), Hardik Tamore (WK), Shivam Dubey, Aman Khan, Shams Mulani, Tanush Kotian, Prashant Solanki, Shashank Attarde, Dhaval Kulkarni, Mohit Awasthi, Prince Badiani, Siddharth Raut, Royston Dias and Arjun Tendulkar.