Star Sports announce commentary panel for IPL Phase 2

Commentary is an important part in any sport and when it comes to the game of cricket, the commentators set the entire mood of a match and a game without them, if it ever takes place, will look lacklustre. Indian Premier League is the biggest festival of cricket for the Indian fans and it is of utmost importance that the organizers decide it’s commentators wisely. And boy have they done it for the second phase of IPL 2021.

Star Sports, the broadcasters of IPL 2021 in India, have recently released the list of commentators for both Hindi and English for the second phase of IPL 2021. Let us first have a look at both the lists.

English Commentary Panel: Ian Bishop, Simon Dole, Kumar Sangakkara, Harsha Bhogle, Sunil Gavaskar, Rohan Gavaskar, Deep Dasgupta, Shiva Rama Krishnan, Anjum Chopra, Murali Karthik, Mark Nicholas, Kevin Pietersen, JP Duminy, Lisa Sthalekar, Daren Ganga, Pommie MBangwa, Michael Slater and Danny Morrison.

Hindi Commentary Panel: Parthiv Patel, Akash Chopra, Irfan Pathan, Gautam Gambhir, Ashish Nehra, Jatin Sapru, Nikhil Chopra, Kiran More, Ajit Agarkar, and Sanjay Bangar.

It might seem that the Hindi commentators’ list is much bigger than that of the English commentators but we have to keep in mind that the English commentators have a much wider range of audience to cater to and till date it is considered to be the best commentary.

However, the Hindi commentators are slowly picking up and it’s popularity will only grow over time. Given the number of cricket fans in India, it will not be shocking if Hindi viewers exceed the number of English viewers in the next few years.