This much money the two new teams can spend on three players


The eight original teams of the IPL have submitted their retention list on November 30 ahead of the mega auctions. The franchises had a tough time in selecting the four players they wanted to retain.

Also Read:- KKR ignore skipper Eoin Morgan, Pat Cummins and Shubman Gill

The 2022 edition of IPL will be a 10-team event with the addition of two new teams-Lucknow and Ahmedabad.

The two new franchises will now have the opportunity to sign three players. The deadline to submit the list is December 25. The franchises can select any player other than the players retained by the original eight teams. Out of three players they can sign a maximum of two domestic players and one overseas player.

The two new teams will have INR 33 crore to pick three players. The break up will be the same INR 15 crore, INR 11 crore and INR 7 crore. The amount will be deducted from the salary purse of INR 90 crore.

Also Read:- Full list of Delhi Capitals retention list ahead of the mega auctions

“If a player is negotiating with a new franchise, he can do it according to the purse allocation. If someone is in line to become the captain of a new team, then obviously he will be joining for Rs 15 crore,” said a CEO of one of the franchises.

If reports are to be believed, KL Rahul is the forerunner to become the captain of Lucknow franchise. PBKS head coach Anil Kumble confirmed that the 28-year-old Karnataka batsmen wanted to go to the auctions. Rashid Khan also had a similar issue as he wanted to be the first player to be picked by SRH. But SRH decided to pick skipper Kane Williamson as their number 1 retention.

The deadline to submit the list of three players by the two new franchises is December 25. The mega auctions will be held somewhere in January 2022. The date isn’t official yet.

Also Read:- SRH ignore David Warner, Rashid Khan and Bhuvneshwar Kumar