This player has been named as the vice captain of Team India in Tests

The BCCI on Saturday named KL Rahul as the vice-captain for team India in the three match test series in South Africa which starts from December 26 in Centurion. Rahul replaces Rohit as the deputy of Virat Kohli. 

Also Read:- “It’s all hoax !”: Sunil Gavaskar opines on the rift between Kohli and Rohit

Rohit Sharma who was recently named as the vice-captain of Team India in the longest format of the game picked up a hamstring injury during the training session ahead of the team’s departure to the Rainbow Nation. Ajinkya Rahane was removed from the responsibility during the squad announcement.

“The All-India Senior selection committee has named KL Rahul as vice-captain for the upcoming 3-match Test series against South Africa. KL Rahul replaces Rohit Sharma as vice-captain, who was ruled out of the Test series owing to a hamstring injury,” the BCCI announced through its official twitter handle.

India A skipper Priyank Panchal replaced Rohit Sharma for the South Africa series.

The first of three tests will begin on Boxing Day on December 26 in Centurion. The second test is scheduled to start from January 3 in Johannesburg followed by the third test which is set to begin from January 11 in Cape Town.

KL Rahul was earlier made the vice-captain of Team India in the limited overs series against Australia. Rohit missed the series due to a hamstring injury which also troubled him in the 2020 edition of IPL.

India’s Test squad for South Africa series: Virat Kohli (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Priyank Panchal, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), R Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Md. Siraj.

Also Read:- “It’s all hoax !”: Sunil Gavaskar opines on the rift between Kohli and Rohit