This player will lead West Indies in Pakistan tour in absence of Pollard

Kieron Pollard

West Indies limited over skipper Kieron Pollard is out of Pakistan tour due to a hamstring injury he sustained in the recently concluded ICC T20 World Cup in UAE and has not recovered yet.

Also Read:- Ajaz Patel breaks Ian Botham’s 41-year-old record

Cricket West Indies has named Devon Thomas in West Indies ODI squad and Rovman Powell in West Indies T20I squad.

Pollard will now undergo rehabilitation work under the supervision of CWI Chief Medical Officer Dr Israel Dowlat in Trinidad, and will be reassessed in a few weeks before the home series against Ireland and England in January 2022.

Nicholas Pooran will be West Indies stand in captain in the T20Is while Shai Hope will lead the side in ODIs. Nicholas Pooran will be his deputy in ODIs and Shai Hope will be the vice-captain in T20Is.

Taking about the Pakistan tour, West Indies are scheduled to play three T20Is and as many ODIs at the Karachi National Stadium which is set to begin from December 13 and will go until December 22.

This will be West Indies fourth of 12 series. The series will be a part of ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League wherein top seven teams will earn direct qualification through rankings. West Indies are currently poised at the eight position.

The ICC ODI Men’s Cricket World Cup will be hosted by India in 2023.

Also Read:- VIDEO: Indian players having some fun with a faulty Spidercam

West Indies squad for T20Is: Nicholas Pooran (captain), Shai Hope (vice-captain), Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Dominic Drakes, Akeal Hosein, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Rovman Powell, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr.

West Indies squad for ODIs: Shai Hope (captain), Nicholas Pooran (vice-captain), Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, Roston Chase, Justin Greaves, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Gudakesh Motie, Anderson Phillip, Raymon Reifer, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Devon Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr.

West Indies tour of Pakistan schedule:

December 13 – 1st T20I, Karachi

December 14 – 2nd T20I, Karachi

December 16 – 3rd T20I, Karachi

December 18 – 1st ODI, Karachi

December 20 – 2nd ODI, Karachi

December 22 – 3rd ODI, Karachi

Also Read:- This is why Shubman Gill and Mayank Agarwal did not turn up for fielding on Day 3