Top 5 richest T20 cricket leagues in the world

1. Indian Premier League (IPL)

The IPL is the richest t20 cricket league in the world. In the year 2015, Duff and Phelps conducted an in-depth valuation analysis of the IPL. The league is valued at USD 4.5 billion. The IPL has changed the way people look at limited overs game.

In 2008 construction giant DLF bagged the sponsorship for the first five editions of IPL. The total amount was Rs.200 crore. For the next five seasons, soft drinks giants Pepsi acquired the rights for Rs. 396 crores. VIVO acquired the rights for the next five seasons for 2199 crores. In 2017 Star India took the broadcasting rights for 16,347.5 crores.

The league consists of eight clubs namely Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Kolkata Knight Riders, Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Capitals, Sunrisers Hyderabad and Punjab Kings.

2. Big Bash League (BBL)

BBL is the second richest t20 league in the world. Since KFC became its chief sponsors in 2011, the league’s revenue has grown. 80 city-based franchises participate in the tournament. The primary source of income of BBL is ticket sales and broadcasting rights. In 2013 Ten Network acquired the broadcasting rights for $100 million for a five-year deal. BBL is the first league to bring electronic bails and stumps. The winning teams get a prize money of $450,000, while the runner-up gets $260,000. The teams finishing third and fourth get $80,000 each.

3. Natwest T20 Blast

England’s t20 league is the third richest t20 cricket league in the world. Natwest t20 Blast is the first ever T20 tournament to be conceived. A total of 18 first class counties participate in the tournament. However, the schedule of the league is in a huge mess. The tournament’s schedule goes hand in hand with domestic First Class and List A tournaments.

England Cricket Board acquires a total of GBP 5-7 million from broadcasting revenues. Because of its low viewership, the ECB is thinking of privatising the teams much like IPL making it a city-based franchise affair, rather than the traditional county affair.

8 franchises will participate in the new model of the tournament. If this happens the revenue of the league will reach new heights.

4. Caribbean Premier League (CPL)

The league stands fourth in the list. CPL is managed by West Indies Cricket Board. The chief title sponsor of the league is an Indian Automobile company named MotoCorp. IPL franchise KKR have decent business affiliations with the CPL. Shah Rukh Khan owns a major part of Tribango Knight Riders.

In the inaugural season of the league in 2013, Virgin airlines owner and the ever-flamboyant Richard Branson became the co-owner of the league. Hollywood star Mark Wahlberg also has some association with the league. The main source of income is the broadcasting revenues. The league is watched across 15 countries with an average view count of 208 million annually.

5. Pakistan Super League (PSL)

Like IPL, Pakistan wanted a league of its own country. Dubai and Sharjah host the majority of the games. The tournament started in 2016 and the Pakistan Cricket Board has benefitted a lot from it. The league uses the city bases franchise model similar to IPL. All the franchises were sold for USD 93 million each. Another franchise has been added this year. The tournament has a valuation of USD 300 million. In the inaugural season of the tournament PCB earned a profit of USD 2.6 million.

The only downside of the league is that it is played in the middle east and not in Pakistan. The PCB are losing millions due to high maintenance. The ticket sales are also quite low. If PCB could arrange the tournament in Pakistan then the league will receive massive ticket boosts.