Who can replace Kuldeep Yadav and KL Rahul in India’s squad for SA T20 series

Team India is currently gearing up for their series against one of the top big guns of cricket world South Africa. Currently a five match T20 series is starting from June 9. But after the announcement of the playing XI, surprisingly KL Rahul and spinner Kuldeep Yadav were ruled out of the five-match T20 series, the Board of Control for Cricket in India announced on Wednesday.

The first match of the series is going to happen in Delhi on Thursday. 

The reason behind this is that Rahul will miss out the series because of a right groin injury and Yadav suffering after getting hit on his right hand while batting in the nets on Tuesday evening, as per the BCCI statement. 

KL Rahul was the captain of Lucknow Super Giants in IPL22. After delivering a tremendous performance throughout the IPL, he was selected to lead the Indian side in this series against South Africa. 

He took his team into the finals but unfortunately lost it. He scored 616 runs in the season at an average of 51.33. 

On the other hand, Yadav had a good IPL season with Delhi Capitals. The left-arm spinner finished this session as the fifth-highest wicket-taker in the season. He took 21 wickets in 14 games with an economy-rate of 8.43.

But now, the real question is who is going to take their place in their surprising absence. 

BCCI announced that Rishab Pant is going to take the role of the Captain instead of KL Rahul. Rishab Pant delivered an astonishing performance in the recent IPL22.

“The selection committee has not named a replacement for KL Rahul and Kuldeep Yadav. Both the cricketers will now report to the NCA where the medical team will assess them further and decide on the future course of treatment,” as per the BCCI statement.

India’s updated T20I squad: Rishabh Pant (Captain)(wk), Hardik Pandya (vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik